GUILT STRUCK (6)

At exactly 8.50 am, Josh drove into the camp premises and found himself a cool spot under a tree. The burden he bore from the dreams he had concurrently for three days weighed him down drastically.

“Is there something I need to know Lord?” he pondered. He drifted away while pondering more on those deep words that had changed his life these past weeks.

As soon as Sandra returned to ask what I’ll love to eat, a maid came and drew her attention away, giving us time to catch up.

“The world is indeed a small place” I started  as ‘Mr Bakare smiled.

“Hey darling, I called some days ago to inform you but you didn’t pick or return my call”

I sat starring at Timi. “So how is it that I never knew the Bakare part of your name?” I asked. He tried apologizing before I waved it off and went further to tell him how his last visit almost cost me a lot. “It’s a pity dear” he replied

“Aaahaaah, what’s happening here, looks like you’ve got a new friend here already” Sandra said smiling and grinning at both of us.

“Honey, you won’t believe your friend here is a colleague at work” He said

“What? Really?” Sandra asked wide-eyed.

“And you never told me” She replied looking at me.

“How would I have known when you refused to introduce him to us” I replied, eyeing her. Timi just stood smiling at us.

“It’s okay, enjoy!” She said and left.

The crowd was gradually reducing and time was fast ticking away. Timi suggested he host me privately as a special guest in one of the rooms upstairs. I still can’t say if there was more to the goat meat pepper soup and chilled drink I took; or could it be the soft touch from Timi as we talked that sparked up hot emotions within? Or….?

“Your wife should be looking for you Timi” I said the moment he closed the door behind him

“Don’t worry about that dear” he answered.

I started getting uncomfortable the moment he drew closer and shut my next words with this passionate kiss.

“What are you doing Timi” I asked trying to push him away. “I only came for your house warming” I continued. Oh my God! What was really happening to me; each touch weakened me. Things were happening so fast. Timi was definitely drunk I thought.

The world around me came to a halt the moment the door was thrown ajar and I heard her voice

“Honey, where are you?”

“Jee—-s—us—ssss!”

“What! What’s happening here? NO! NO! This must be some joke!

Within few seconds Sandra’s shout attracted attention. I wished I could fly out from the window. I wished again in my life, the ground could open or perhaps I had some supernatural power to disappear into thin air. I covered my face in shame, quickly tried to arrange my ruffled hair, looked around for my purse and saw Timi quickly dash out of the door.Image result for pictures on guilt

“I can’t believe this! So this is what you came to do in my house” Sandra started. Standing by the door, her screams were loud as she explained the scene that just played out to the already gathering crowd.

“I knew something was wrong, I felt it from the look you gave my husband when I introduced him to you. It never did cross my mind that you would dare destroy my marriage” I lifted up my head slightly to see the crowd already gathering by the window. Sandra couldn’t bear it anymore, she moved closer and dragged me by my arm. I couldn’t even resist….

Josh was about taking the right turn from the roundabout leading to the house when he remembered a colleague invited him over to their house warming ceremony. It seemed unbelievable but was actually a reality that Sandra had worked for 4 months in Josh’s company while I remained in oblivion. After much struggles within, Josh decided to stop over and pay at least a courtesy call

Rejoice with them that rejoice

The myriad of cars parked outside made Josh unable to quickly find a comfortable parking space. When he eventually did, he came out of his car and walked into the massive double duplex mansion. He wondered what Sandra’s husband was into, to erect such state- of –the- art structure. The music was still blasting as he made his way into the compound. Just close to the entrance of one of the duplexes, he saw a little crowd gathering, but the look on their faces were definitely not that of happiness and merriment.

“Eheeen, wetin man no go see, person come party wan snatch another woman husband” Josh overheard someone make such comment. Stanley quickly dashed out from a side door and Josh was surprised to see him. Josh noticed the uneasiness on his face as they exchanged pleasantries.

“Aaaagh,  welcome Josh. So you also know the couple” he asked

“Of course, Sandra is a colleague at work” Josh replied.

“What’s happening over there?” Josh asked

“Eeerrm,” Stanley scratched his head, looking around for an appropriate answer.

“I think you should go in and find out yourself” Stanley replied.

“I have limited time to spend here; I am just coming from a journey. I think I should quickly see if I can meet Sandra and her husband, greet and am on my way home.” Josh said

The moment Josh turned to get into the house, Stanley followed suit. He was nostalgic as to what lay ahead. How would Josh take this?

“Excuse me please can I see Mrs Bakare?” Josh asked a guard standing by the door

“Yes sir, just go up, you’ll meet her right there” He answered.

As Josh got to the last step of the staircase, he wondered what it is that made Sandra’s voice so loud, suddenly he faintly heard sobs from what sounded like a feminine voice. He hoped he wasn’t intruding, but was determined to see Sandra, who knows his presence could calm whatever situation there was. He found his way through the crowd by the corridor to the room where Sandra stood by the door.

Just as he opened his mouth to call out on the raging woman, who no one stopped, his eyes fell on a familiar figure sitting at a corner in the room…

To be continued

Next episode would be a wrap on this series

What would be your reaction if you were to be Josh? I appreciate and await your response

 

6 thoughts on “GUILT STRUCK (6)

  1. if I were Josh I would get so angry that I uttering any word would be very dangerous. Therefore I’d just find my way out of that vicinity.

    I can’t wait for the conclusion.

    Like

  2. If I was josh, hmm that one go hard oo. But I will not say anything at the moment. We will treat the matter at home

    Like

Leave a comment